February Wrap-Up

Despite the amount of work I’ve had this past month, I’ve still managed to read 6 books and get everything finished on time. As you might be able to tell from this post (and possibly the next few), by TBR lists are dedicated to catching up on popular series that I never got round to reading during my A-Levels.

I’ll start this wrap-up with one of the best books I’ve read so far in 2016; The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I don’t even know if I can describe this book and do it enough justice (your best bet is to read the Goodreads description). The characters in this book were absolutely fantastic, I loved how they were all so different and yet ended up entwined in the same mystery. Their contrasting personalities and varying upbringings only enhances the strength of the four boys’ friendship and I’m definitely excited to see their development, as well as how Blue will slot in and develop with them. I honestly think I could write a 10,000 word essay on reasons I love this book. I gave it 5/5 stars and I’m so excited to read the next book in the series!

IMG_5192
Instagram: @rebeccaareads

As many of you may know, Cinder by Marissa Meyer is the first book in The Lunar Chronicles; it’s about a cyborg girl with a mysterious past who then encounters the much adored Prince Kai and ends up part of a huge intergalactic conflict. This book combines a range of genres. As a sci-fi, dystopian, fantasy type retelling of a fairy-tale, one of the reasons I really enjoyed this book is because the fairy-tale elements were there but they weren’t the main focus, if you didn’t think about it they wouldn’t be entirely obvious. I gave this book 4.5/5 stars, I thought Cinder was very well written, the story was interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed how unique the whole thing was.

IMG_5272
Instagram: @rebeccaareads

While we’re on the topic of The Lunar Chronicles, I finished off February by reading the next book in the series, Scarlet. While the whole thing with Cinder is still going on in the Eastern Commonwealth, Scarlet discovers that her grandmother is missing. She then meets Wolf and the mystery of Scarlet’s grandmother and Cinder’s story begin to unravel. Again, I really enjoyed this book but unlike Cinder, I found the pace was much slower, which is why I gave it 3.75/5 stars. Despite this, I love the new characters and I’m really excited to read the last two in the series.

The next book I read last month was Night Owls by Jenn Bennet. The main character, Beatrix, meets Jack on the night bus to find out he’s the city’s notorious street artist. This story is about their developing relationship, finding out more and more about the mysterious boy. While I’m all for cliche’s, I found this book quite boring. I just didn’t feel like there was much of a story to it, so I gave it 2.5/5 stars.

City_of_glass
Source: Wikipedia

With the release of the Shadowhunters TV programme, I felt it best to catch myself up with The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. While I have my qualms about the programme, I don’t have a bad word to say about the series. This month I read both City of Ashes and City of Glass. While I found City of Ashes slightly less gripping than City of Bones, City of Glass was utterly overwhelming; as taken from my Goodreads update, how can so much happen in one book and it still be absolutely fantastic? Sometimes, a lot of action and a such a fast paced book in a series can throw things off balance but City of Glass was everything I could have wanted, I’m unbelievably excited to read City of Fallen Angels.

So that’s the end of my February Wrap-Up, I feel like it’s quite long but I feel like as it’s my first post there is plenty of room for improvement, so any comments or recommendations would be very useful! Also, I’m thinking of posting a review soon but I’m not sure which book to do it on. If anyone had any suggestions then that would be great.

Until we meet again,

Becca.

Leave a Reply

