Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

It’s been a long time since a wrote a blog post so I decided to take some time to write my first book review. Obsidian is the first book in the sci-fi/fantasy/romance/YA series, Lux, by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I know Obsidian was released a while ago but its one I don’t really hear much about, but when I do, it’s all positive. I’ve never seen a bad review about this book so I was hoping it would live up to the standards set by other bloggers; however, I was disappointed.

IMG_5455

There were some aspects I enjoyed about Obsidian, despite it not living up to expectations. I love a good cliché, and luckily for me this book was full of them, my favourite being the brooding and mysterious male protagonist but we’ll get to that later. Katy, our female protagonist, moves to a small town for a fresh start with her mother after the death of her father. As always, things always start to go bad when the character moves there, despite nothing ever really happening before then but that’s ok, we can live with that. This is when we meet the insufferably arrogant neighbour, Daemon. Daemon is ridiculously attractive, the tall and dark kind of attractive which is everyone’s weakness (even if they don’t show it).

Now, what really angers me about the developing relationship between Katy and Daemon is how rude Daemon is and how he treats Katy horrendously; however, what gets to me even more is how Katy lets him treat her in this way. 99% of the time he insults her and to be honest, its utterly demoralising and if it were me, I would have had nothing to do with him. I could be taking it too seriously but I believe this whole ‘bad boy’ thing is way too intense. I’d assume that in the following books, Daemon becomes the ‘bad boy turned good’ by the innocent female and his undying love for her but I don’t think I’ll be carrying this series on.

The whole alien story line hasn’t really grabbed me either. I just don’t see how Katy is willing to pursue a romantic relationship with a rude, self-obsessed ball of light. We find out quite a lot about the planet Daemon and his sister Dee are from, what happened to it, why they are on earth and about their enemies. I feel like too much has been revealed and that there’s not much mystery left by the end of the book to leave me wanting to carry on the series. It is, however, a nice change to the usual science fictiony fantasy story though.

So lets talk about the ending. Could we not have one moment of peace from Daemon arrogance? I didn’t like how there was so much focus on Katy liking Daemon because we’d been following this story entirely from her perspective so we understand how she feels. I feel like the clichéd romantic cliff-hanger would have been more effective if we saw a little bit more of Daemons feelings; most people end up curious to see how this plans out and whether Daemons harsh personality changes but I think it’s entirely predictable.

Obsidian was fast-paced story, and I really enjoyed Armentrout’s easily flowing writing style but I think it would have been better as a duology perhaps, rather than a 5 book series. I could be wrong but I feel like it will get worse the longer its dragged on so I don’t think I’ll be reading the rest of the series.

I hope you enjoyed my short and not so sweet review of Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, I’m curious to see your opinions on this book/series so don’t be afraid to comment or let me know on twitter (@rebeccaareads)!

Until we meet again,

Becca.

One thought on “Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

