Waiting on Wednesday: The Glittering Court

I like the idea of Waiting on Wednesday posts hosted by Breaking the Spine so I thought I’d make them a regular feature on my blog. For my first Waiting on Wednesday post I chose the much anticipated The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead; this is the first book in The Glittering Court series and is due to be published on the 5th of April 2016.

the glittering court.jpg
Goodreads: rebeccaareads

The Glittering Court is, according to Goodreads, ‘a dazzling new fantasy series set in a mix of Elizabethan and frontier worlds that’s dripping with romance’. The protagonist, Adelaide, is a countess of Osfridian but wants to escape that life; she does this by posing as a servant in order to get a way, but before she can she must join the Glittering Court.

The Glittering Court is a school that transforms impoverish girls into elegant upper-class women so they can raise themselves and gain a wealthy marriage in the new world. While excelling in training, Adelaide manages to keep her secret hidden from everyone except Cedric Thorn, the son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court. However, Cedric has a secret of his own and so the two make a plan to keep their secrets hidden.

I’m interested to find out everything about the Glittering Court and how it runs as well as the world that Mead has created for this series. Richelle Mead also wrote the Vampire Academy series which I haven’t read, but seem to be popular so I’m interested to find out her writing style and how she creates and develops characters.

I’m so excited to read this because I love a good scandal in a book and I feel like because both Cedric and Adelaide have huge secrets, something is bound to happen. I really want to know if their secrets become known and how their relationship develops because of this. Relationships based on secrets are risky, intense and exciting, so I’m really looking forward to seeing how Mead presents it, and how the two handle each other.

I’ve planned out my next few ‘Waiting on Wednesday’ posts but the books featured are all going to be released much later in the year (August/September) so if anyone knows of any books that will be released sooner (April/May/June), let me know in the comments or on Twitter!

As well as book related posts I want to start writing about other things such as university or university advice. I live in London and so I usually end up exploring at least once a week, so the other thing I might post is weekly roundups with pictures etc. Be sure to let me know what kind of things you want to see on my blog!

Until we meet again,

Becca.

 

Leave a Reply

