Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

*CONTAINS SPOILERS*

acotar.jpg

Similar to Obsidian in my last review, A Court of Thorns and Roses isn’t a new release. It was released in May 2015 and has been talked about ever since. The synopsis was never something that appealed to me when I first read it, but with the release of the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, in May this year I thought I should give it a go and oh boy was I wrong. I’m still getting used to blogging and writing full book reviews so this will be another short(ish) post, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless!

I was so blown away by this book I’m not entirely sure where to start with what I love about it so I’ll just start with the bad stuff. As much as I wanted to, I just didn’t really understand Tamlin; I feel like I know about his past and his present situation but nothing about his personality. For most of the book he’s off protecting his court or closing himself off to Feyre and for the rest of the time he’s Under the Mountain. The only thing I’m left knowing about Tamlin is his love for Feyre and the strength of his stolen abilities. I just can’t work him out!

Despite this, I absolutely loved the book. I loved the characters, the entire world Maas has created, the curses, the elements of Beauty and the Beast that were woven in… everything.

Feyre is our protagonist; she’s strong, stubborn and more than dedicated to what she believes in, making her one of my favourite characters I’ve read. Before Tamlin takes her back to his Spring Court, Feyre is deigned to be the sole provider for her impoverished family after the loss of their wealth and death of their mother. She risks her life to find them food and try and earn some money and not one of them are appreciative in the slightest which really angers me, I have no idea how she puts up with it for so long. Her strength of will to get back to her family is honourable, if not stupid. Nearer the end of the book, she has to complete three trials in order to free herself, Tamlin and the rest of the Spring Court from Aramantha and their curse (which I’ll get on to in a bit), unleashing the full strength of Tamlins magic. During these trials, Feyre’s determination and logic is something to aspire to, even in times of fear and desperation, she is still able to think things through and work out how to win. Through the entire book, the only thing that ever really damaged her pride was her illiteracy.

Enough about Feyre, I’ll move on to the other characters I particularly enjoyed, Lucien and Rhysand. Lucien is a High Fae who lives with Tamlin, my love for him comes from how deeply he cares about those closest to him; he’s full of sarcasm and has a sharp level of wit, making him such a fantastic secondary character to get to know. Rhysand is an interesting one, our secondary villain, although I feel like he’s definitely a ‘bad boy turned good’ type. He appears close with Aramantha when we first meet him but continues to help Feyre during her time trapped Under the Mountain. He’s all sorts of dark and mysterious on the outside, but we’re lead to believe that under all the arrogance he’s full of passion and, similarly to Feyre, willing to fight for what he loves and what he knows is right even if it costs him his life.

My favourite element of this book is the curse put over the Spring Court; this curse is that they have to wear a mask that they can never take off. The reason I love this so much is because it takes away the idea of material beauty, allowing us to focus on the characters themselves rather than what they look like, although Maas does give us hints so that we can imagine it for ourselves. I also love that this is VERY loosely based on Beauty and the Beast, which only emphasises Maas’s incredible level of imagination and talent to create such an elaborate story.

The idea of Prythian being split into different courts named after seasons or time of day is also something I absolutely love. The only ones that were really mentioned in this book were Spring, Autumn and Night, I would really like to know more about the other courts in the next book but if it doesn’t happen then I don’t think I’ll be particularly upset about it.

I’ve read reviews about the romance element of this story but to be honest, its one of the reasons I absolutely love it; I think that the romance adds another level to the story and thickens the plot. It’s such a steamy yet all over the place kind of romance but that only makes me enjoy it even more. Love is what fuels Feyre but Maas also shows that love, while it strengthens, it can also destroy (Aramanthas sister).

As you can probably tell, I could talk about characters all day. I hope you enjoyed my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, feel free to comment your opinions on the book, or send me a link to your reviews because I’d love to read them!

Go and follow my TwitterInstagram, and Goodreads!

Until we meet again,

Becca.

Leave a Reply

