Book Tag: The Classics

I absolutely love my classics and coming across this tag written by Vienna @ Its a Books World was a dream come true!

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Everyone seems to love this book but I found it so dull I couldn’t actually finish it. I know this might be too modern to be a classic classic, but it is still considered a classic in terms of modern American literature.

2. Favourite time period to read about:

I love the 18th and 19th century the most. It’s really interesting reading about life pre-industrialisation when everything was relatively simple! (I say simple in the loosest sense of the word😂)

3. Favorite fairy-tale:

Absolutely most definitely 100% Beauty and the Beast, no questions. I love the original story, the Disney movie, all books based on the story, everything.

giphy

4. What is the most embarrassed classic you haven’t read yet:

Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy. Everyone and their mothers have read this book but I haven’t gotten around to it yet! While we’re on the topic of embarrassment, fun fact: I thought the title was Far From the Maddening Crowd for the longest time, wow.

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, Emma by Jane Austen, Persuasion by Jane Austen, The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy.

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

Either the Lunar Chronicles or the ACOTAR series, I love them both!

7. Favourite movie version/tv series based on a classic:

It’s got to be the Pride and Prejudice series from the BBC, I thought the character casting was absolutely perfect (yes, I’m talking about Colin Firth as Mr Darcy)!

8. Worst classic to movie/tv series adaptation: 

The 2009 BBC adaptation of Wuthering Heights with Tom Hardy. Everything about it is just wrong!

9. Favourite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

Either the leather bound penguin editions designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith, the penguin clothbound classics or the Vintage Classics collection, all of which are beautiful!

10. An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

1984 by George Orwell. No one really talks about this book but I loved it! Definitely worth a read in my opinion. It might not be considered a classic in the traditional sense though.

So there it is, my version of the classics book tag!

I tag Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews, Jorelene @ Page Chronicles Carianne @ Cuppa ‘n Critiques and anyone else who wants to! It was created last year so there’s a high chance you’ve already done it or seen it many times before, but I’m always late to these things!

Until we meet again,

Becca.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Tag: The Classics

  1. Ooh, yay, thanks for the tag! I haven’t read many classics, but I’m still gonna give this one a go! I might change it up a little and make it into more of a TBR thing instead of books I’ve read. I really, really want to read 1984 it’s high up on my TBR. It seems super interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

