Staying Calm during Exam Season.

I firmly believe that giving yourself time to relax and calm down is just as important as solid revision coming up to and during exam season – I’ve learnt through experience. I’m one of those people who wants to be working every possible second of the day or I feel like I’m slacking, but I’ve come to realise that sometimes can be just as bad as doing nothing. The brain needs time to relax and absorb the information. Working too hard only makes you more stressed, tired, and less likely to revise effectively.

*Disclaimer – this isn’t scientific or anything, its only my opinion and things learnt from my own experiences. I know that everyone is different and has their own revision techniques so they might not need these tips, but I also know how easy it is to spiral into the black hole of stress and never return until exams are over. This is all from personal experience.* 

1. Create a realistic revision schedule and stick to it.

I’ve always been one for mapping my time out but until my second year of A-Levels, my schedules were always unrealistic and and inefficient for example, working 9am-9pm with only 1 hour for lunch. Sticking to a solid schedule means you can easily fall into a routine and know what you’re doing, relieving some of the stress. Making it realistic means that you’re not putting yourself under the stress of having to get loads done, more realistic goals are easier to achieve and for me, bring more satisfaction.

2. Switch off and sleep.

This point almost links to the last point; you need to let yourself switch off and get a good nights sleep so you can wake up feeling refreshed for another day of revision. I always used to work right up until I practically fell asleep at my desk but I feel much more productive if I finish at about 6-7pm, have dinner, read and go to bed at a sensible time to start early the next morning. Timings may change depending on the person because you might work better at night whereas I’m an early bird.

3. Take an afternoon/morning off and do something you enjoy.

For me, this is reading, blogging, or wandering around (either by myself or with friends, either works). Clearing your head from your studies twice or three times a week I find to be incredibly satisfying, it means I can start again with a fresh look on everything. By doing something you enjoy, you immediately relax and relieve the stress that was building.

4. For my final and most important point, please remember this:

EXAMS AND GRADES DO NOT DEFINE YOU, THEY DO NOT EQUATE TO YOUR LEVELS OF WORTH. This is something I’ve really struggled with for the past few years, it’s always made me feel inferior. That was until I realised that every single person is different, while one person might be more academic, another might be the an incredible artist. Along with many others, I don’t think it’s fair to put someone’s entire future in their teenage self; this picture pretty much sums it up.

multipleintelligence
Albert Einstein: “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

Again, this is only what I’ve learnt from personal experience (except the last point, that’s relevant to everyone). Good luck with your revision and your exams! ♥

Until we meet again,

Becca.

 

 

One thought on “Staying Calm during Exam Season.

Leave a Reply

