HUGE May Book Haul

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14943563/?claim=aeb6hgnbypp”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

This month has been exam month and so naturally, it has been the month I bought loads and loads of books. You may need to get a cup of coffee or something for this because you might be here for a while!

(All pictures of covers taken from Goodreads)

Books:

The_Raven_King_Cover_Official

The first book bought in the month of May is The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, the fourth and final book in The Raven Cycle. Believe it or not, I still haven’t finished this series! I read The Dream Thieves earlier this month and absolutely loved it, I can’t wait to read the last two books!

 

 

 

ACOMAF-cover1

 

Oh ACOMAF, how I adore you. I bought A Court of Mist and Fury as soon as I possibly could and I think it’s the best book I’ve read so far this year. This book has so much well-deserved hype on Twitter/Instagram, everyone is going mad for it. I don’t want to wait another year for the next one. 😦

 

 

 

26252859

 

I bought this book because I loved Rick Riordan’s other books, however, I haven’t read them all. I heard that you need to read them all before reading The Trials of Apollo so I’m not entirely sure when I’ll get to it. I’m looking forward to it though, I love stories based on Greek mythology, the Percy Jackson series is one of my favourites!

 

 

 

24376529

 

I’m so excited to read A Madness so Discreet by Mindy Mcginnis; it’s unlike anything I’ve read previously so I’m looking forward to expanding the types of books I read. It’s about a woman in an asylum who becomes friends with a serial killer; I’m not great at paraphrasing but it’s about a girl who tries to hunt this killer while battling with her own problems with mental health (Goodreads page here). This book was recommended to me by someone on Twitter but I can’t remember who it was… whoever it was, thank you so much!! ♥

 

23308084

 

It took me soooo long to get to the first book in this series, The Wrath and the Dawn, and I have no idea why. The first book is about a girl who volunteers to become the next bride of the Caliph who takes a new bride every day only to kill her at dawn; however, everything is not as it seems when we discover there’s more to it. The first book ended on such a cliffhanger, I loved it. As soon as I started it I wanted to finish it in one sitting – the only thing stopping me was my exam. It was so fantastic I ordered the second book, The Rose and the Dagger straight away! I’m tempted to review both of these in a blog post soon, what do you think? 🙂

IMG_6851
Instagram: rebeccaareads

 

I bought these Sherlock Holmes stories completely on a whim; I was browsing Foyles and the covers trapped me and wouldn’t let me leave without them. The books I bought are A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb and other Cases, and The Valley of Fear, all by Arthur Conan Doyle.

 

A Darker Shade final for Irene

I know, I’m probably the only person on earth who hasn’t read these books, or anything else by V. E. Schwab. I’m not sure why, people love her and her books seem right up my street. Anyway, A Darker Shad of Magic is the first book in the Shades of Magic series. It’s set in London which is fantastic, I’m not going to attempt to paraphrase what this book is about so again, here’s the Goodreads page.

 

 

cress.jpg

 

I read the first two books in The Lunar Chronicles series earlier this year and loved them, I have no idea why it took so long for me to get the next book! I love the covers to this series as well.

Lastly, I bought the first four books in the well-loved Harry Potter series, just because I loved these covers.

Comic Books/Graphic Novels:

Oh yes, there’s more, there’s a whole separate section just for the comics/graphic novels I bought. I wanted to start reading more graphic novels but I had no idea where to start until one of my favourite people ever on twitter, Katelyn (Twitter here, Instagram here, go follow her, SHE HAS AN ADORABLE DOG CALLED KHALEESI, IF THAT’S NOT THE GREATEST THING I DON’T KNOW WHAT IS ♥), posted on Twitter her recommendations. Of course I went and bought most of the books she recommended immediately, she has great taste.
batgirl burnside

The first recommendation was Batgirl of Burnside which I’m reading at the moment. I’m absolutely LOVING it, it’s got a great mix between the average life of a girl (boys, work etc.) and her fantastic alter-ego. As much as I love the standard male superheroes and their stories, it’s great to see stories about a modern day woman. (Katelyn, I totally agree, she does look like you!)

 

 

 

batgirl

Continuing with the same theme, I picked up Batgirl on another recommendation. I have a feeling I’ll get through this series pretty quickly!

 

 

 

 

 

civil warWith the release of Captain America: Civil War this month, I realised that it coincided amazingly well with my new branch of reading so I thought it would be good to read the comics too! The story is split into 7 parts but the edition I got from Foyles has them all in one which is fantastic.

 

 

 

 

 

suicide squad

The upcoming release of the Suicide Squad movie made me really excited to read this and it was absolutely fantastic; I found the first book in the series, Kicked in the Teeth, and loved it so much I ordered the rest of the series!

 

 

 

 

 

harley quinn

I ordered Harley Quinn before I read Suicide Squad, and if anything, it made me even more excited to get my hands on this one! In the past week or so I’ve quickly developed an obsession.

 

 

 

 

ms marvel

I literally only bought this book because I loved the colours on the front. I ended up thoroughly enjoying it though. So many girly-themes comics 😂 I’m planning on reading the Batman series as well as the Deadpool series over the summer though!

 

 

 

 

v for vendetta

As a slight step away from the Marvel/DC superhero comics, I bought V for Vendetta because it was one of Katelyn’s recommendations and I trust her judgement! It’s quite a chunky book but I’ve got all summer so I’m sure I’ll muster up the courage to read it!

 

 

 

persepolic

 

Persepolis is another one I got because of a recommendation. It’s the story about a girl growing up in Iran during the Iranian Revolution which sounds like it would make for a fantastic graphic novel. I’m very excited to read this.

 

 

 

 

wicked divine

 

The final book I bought this year was again, recommended by Katelyn (I’m feeling like I’m being incredibly repetitive throughout this post). Even if I don’t enjoy it, which I’m sure I will, the cover is beautiful!! It looks lovely on my shelf too!

 

 

 

 

*and exhaaaaale* That was the biggest book haul I’ve done so far and I couldn’t be happier with the books I’ve bought so far. Seeing I’ve finished my first year at university, I have 4 months off before I start my second year so I have a huugeeee summer TBR – would you prefer I did it all in one or split them into monthly TBRs? Or both? Let me know in the comments and I’ll get at least a monthly TBR up sometime this week!

I hope you enjoyed this, I had a lot of fun writing it!

Until we meet again,

Becca.

 

 

4 thoughts on “HUGE May Book Haul

  1. Oh my goddd. This haul is amazing 😍😍😍 I really hope you enjoy the rest of The Raven Cycle series. The Hidden Oracle is AMAZING, but yeah I definitely recommend reading the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series first. I mean you can read it without them, but there’d be spoilers and lots of fun references that you’d miss. A Madness so Discreet sounds so interesting and don’t worry I haven’t read anything by V.E. Schwab either 😅

    So many amazing comics and graphic novels too!!! I read The Wicked + The Divine last month and it was really strange, but completely mindblowing-ly awesome. So happy to see Harley there too! She is my favourite character ever. I really need to read Batgirl and Suicide Squad.

    I hope you get the chance to get lots of reading down during your summer break ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

