The Slump.

For the past 2 months, I have been in the biggest reading slump known to man. I haven’t picked up a book, posted on my blog, Instagram or Twitter for weeks.

I’m definitely one for routine and so being out of uni for so long has really put me down; being from such a small town, it’s very difficult to get a job, especially a temporary job. As much as I love my alone time, living back at home means I am alone all day every day and that really doesn’t bode well for me. It brings my entire mood down, dragging my motivation and self confidence with it, resulting in me doing less with my day and getting deeper into this black hole. Saying this, I usually get out of the house in the evening and weekends to see some friends and so I’m not as deep into the black hole as I have been the past few years so in my eyes, things could only really go up from there. Reading and writing this blog had managed to keep my mind busy for a while until I went to Glastonbury Festival; after 5 days of being away from home and being constantly entertained, nothing at home was quite doing the trick anymore and as hard as I tried, I couldn’t get into any book I picked up.

It wasn’t until last night when I was having a particularly bad day that I decided to re-read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, and my slump seemed to have lifted. All it took was an old favourite to get me back into things and I’m feeling so much better about everything, despite the dismal weather (as usual, England doesn’t get an August). The world created by JK Rowling has never ever failed to make me feel better; this morning I got up and went straight into town to pick up Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I’m having to exercise a level of self-restraint at the moment, as I want to re-read the entire series before I read this one (self-restraint isn’t exactly my forte so we’ll see how that one goes).

I plan on straightening my schedule out and boosting myself towards posting more regularly from now on, hopefully the routine of writing and posting will keep me going and for a slump like this to never happen again. Anyway, I just wanted to explain why I’ve been away for so long and show my ever-growing appreciation for JK Rowling; mood is a funny thing. I plan on spending the evening reading some of my favourite blogs and planning out a few blog posts and a TBR.

Until we meet again,

Becca.

 

8 thoughts on “The Slump.

  1. Oh no, so sorry to hear about your reading slump! I just got out of one myself. I think rereading favorites is always a good way to get out of a slump, but I didn’t want to reread a book so I just read an SJM book. She’s becoming one of my favorite writers!

    Jess @ POB!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Slumps are the worst 😦 every SJM book I’ve read so far has been fantastic, she never fails to produce a great story! You’re definitely right, re-reading a favourite has kicked me right out, I think I’m actually more organised now than before 😂 💕

      Like

  2. I’ve been having quite a slump all-round, so I can really relate. I’m not reading, or writing, or taking as much of an interest in most of my hobbies and plans. My mental health has declined somewhat and it’s very difficult. I’m not eating or sleeping, but I pass the time by trying to read a little Harry Potter each night. Hopefully I’ll feel better soon. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

