*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: Alice.

Good morning all! Todays blog post will be a SPOILER FREE review of one of my most recent reads, Alice by Christina Henry. It was the wonderful Taylor @ Taylor Mae Marie that inspired me to read this book, she just posted a great review of Thorn Jack which, if I’m honest, will probably be my next read (review here).

aliceTitle: Alice.

Author: Christina Henry.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd.

Rating: ★★★★☆

“In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with the screams of the poor souls inside.In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blonde, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place-just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood…Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago.Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful.And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice.”

This book is an absolutely fantastic retelling of Alice in Wonderland; I absolutely love my retellings so I immediately fell in love with this book.

The whole concept of this retelling gripped me right from the beginning. The story line is so out there but still manages to weave themes and characters from the original book which is what some retellings struggle with.

One of my favourite parts of this book is the creation of the Old City with the original characters being split into sectors, the best way I can describe it is almost like gang culture. They all have their separate parts of the city that they control and when Alice and Hatch come in everything flies up in the air.

Our main characters are Alice and Hatcher. Everything that happened to Alice made her relatively weak, she relies on Hatcher for a lot throughout the beginning book; however, her character development is fantastic. Her experiences strengthen her and harden her emotions so she becomes this revenge fuelled spitfire; there’s nothing stopping her and Hatcher. This brings me on to our male protagonist, Hatcher. My favourite element to his character is how unpredictable he is; he’s dangerous and fast-changing which makes him a really exciting character to read about, I imagine Christina Henry had fun writing him! The duo work balance each-other out which is why they work to well together to become a force to be reckoned with.

The reason I gave this a four-star rating rather than five is because as much as I loved reading this, it wasn’t a ‘just one more chapter’ kind of book for me. I could have easily put it down and picked it up again over a few days but that doesn’t mean to say I wasn’t excited to pick it back up again every time!

The ending was an interesting one and I feel like it will split it’s audiences. I’m not going to go too deep into it or I’ll spoil it, while it worked well with the rest of the book, it was definitely not what I expected! If you’ve read it I would love to know your thoughts on the ending of this!

As always, my review is short but captures what I thought about the book! Let me know what you thought about the book!

Until next time,

Becca.

5 thoughts on “*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: Alice.

Leave a Reply

