The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

I just finished reading The Secret Life of a Book Blogger tag over on Kirsty @ The Bibliophile Girl‘s blog and I thought it was a really good one to do! There’s not much I can say to introduce this tag so without further ado, here are my answers!

1. How long have you been a book blogger?

I started in February this year so I really haven’t been doing it that long, I’m still pretty new to the blogosphere and the blogger life. I thought that writing about things NOT related to my course at university would great, and it is. I’m really enjoying it!

2. At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

At the moment I have no intention of stopping, I’ll most likely keep going until it naturally comes to an end.

3. What is the best part?

The blogging community is absolutely wonderful, it’s so welcoming and it’s great being able to talk to anyone and everyone about anything and everything. If I’m ever stuck for what to read next then all I have to do is ask and people give you recommendations, it’s great.

4. What is the worst part?

There are a lot of people with a lot of opinions. While this is usually a good thing, sometimes people get very defensive and angry if you don’t agree with things. For example, I’ve read Throne of Glass but I’ve been kind of scared to read the rest; as a person who puts their opinions on the internet with no problem, I find it intimidating to put something out there that I know will cause a backlash. I’m not talking about everyone here but I’ve seen people getting a lot of stick for not agreeing with others. It’s scary even writing this (which is why it probably doesn’t make much sense) so if you feel the same, please let me know so I don’t feel like the only one!

5. How long does it take to find/create pictures to use?

It depends, most of the pictures I use on my blog are just the covers of books so it’s pretty easy just to look them up on Goodreads. However, for bookstagram or if I’m using my own photos, it could take absolutely ages to get the right one. I checked my camera earlier and found that I had taken about 45 pictures of the same book over the course of an hour, and then it took another 10 minutes deciding which one to use.

6. Who’s your book crush?

Oh god don’t even get me started. I don’t think I could chose one so I’m not going to. However, I would love to know yours!

7. What author would you like to have on your blog?

J.K. Rowling, no question. The Harry Potter series is my absolute favourite and it is loved by everyone, I would probably cry if I ever met her let alone have her on my blog!

8. What do you wear when you write your blog?

Usually my pjs. I’m always home when I write my posts and when I’m at home I’m usually in my pyjamas because it’s ultimately comfortable. It’s my happy place.

9. How long does it take to prepare a post?

Again, it depends. I can take about an hour to write a book review but it usually takes about 20 minutes to write a tag post. I say usually because I’ve been writing this one for an hour and a half with the blame being 100% on the fact that I’m watching Gilmore Girls. I really can’t multi-task!

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I’ve already touched on this a little bit but my general consensus is that I love it. It’s welcoming and kind and a wonderful place to tell people about the books you love.

11. What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

The size of the blog doesn’t really matter; a blog is usually created because a person loves writing and is passionate about what they’re writing about. However, regular posts and interactions really help a blog grow!


So this has been incredibly fun to write, I hope you guys enjoyed reading it!

6 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Leave a Reply

