Summer Wrap-Up.

Instead of a Sunday Post this week I thought I’d do a complete summer wrap-up (June-now). I’ve just got back to my flat in London so timing-wise this post works out perfectly! Seeing as I’ve had quite a few weeks off from university I thought I’d hold off on the monthly wrap-ups and do an entire summer one instead; there’s an awful lot in this post so prepare yourselves, I’ll try and be as snappy as possible!

Books read in June:

Yes, I’ve only just started reading Throne of Glass. Why? Read this.

The concluding book to The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater was released in April this year and I couldn’t have been happier. It was an amazing end to an amazing series!

Unfortunately, I had to DNF The Winner’s Curse. I’m not sure if it’s because of my reading slump or if it’s because I didn’t like it… I’ll probably try and read it again soon.

The Rule Book was the starting point of talking about New Adult books. I read them regularly but I never really feature them on my blog, I’m not entirely sure why. I don’t trust myself with giving recommendations though so go and watch a few of Carol @ The Reading Wallflower‘s videos on YouTube because they’re always fantastic.

Books read in August:

The Grisha trilogy has turned out to be one of my favourite series, I did, however, have many opinions on the final book. I wanted it to end one way but it ended the other, but I think that’s what Leigh Bardugo was sort of going for… the unexpected expected if that makes sense (don’t think about that for too long, I just did and now I can’t pronounce the word).

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, on the other-hand, wasn’t as I’d thought it was. I’m not really sure if I liked it. To be quite honest, I think I’m going to enjoy the film more than the book, which is a rarity for me.

Books read in the beginning of September:

I have an awful lot to say about Red Queen and Anna and the French Kiss. So much that I cannot comprehend trying to write about them. Absolutely fantastic.

I received an eARC of Oak and Mistletoe by J.Z.N McCauley to read and review here on my blog so look out for that towards the end of September!


The more observant of you will notice I haven’t mentioned the books I had read in July, and that is because I didn’t read anything. Not one single book. I explained a little bit about the massive reading slump in this post here.


Books bought:

I bought plenty of books over the summer but with my head not being in too much of a ‘thinking practically’ mode, I didn’t write down what I bought when so you’ll probably have to check my Twitter.

There is, however, a huuuuuge birthday book haul that went up yesterday of all the books I bought myself/received for my birthday so go and have a look at that here!


Books reviewed:

I really haven’t reviewed any books over the summer. Mostly because I’ve been reading books that came out a long while ago and already have 1001 reviews on them, and partly because I don’t know what books my readers want reviews on so if there’s anything then be sure to let me know! The reviews I have posted you can find links for below.

Book Review: The Night Circus.

*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: Alice.

*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: Gifted.

*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic.


I wish I was joking when I say that I spend 30 minutes cutting out the waffle. I hope you enjoyed todays post!

Becca.

2 thoughts on “Summer Wrap-Up.

Leave a Reply

