Unpopular Opinions.

Todays post is going to be a little bit different and a little bit controversial. I’m nervous just writing this because the books I’m mentioning have solid, widespread fanbases which are quite intimidating. I’m happy to be getting my opinions out there though because hopefully others will realise it’s ok not to like something everyone else likes.

To start off with, as a girl who loves classic literature, I don’t understand everyones love for To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I just found it boring and couldn’t finish it. People seem to think it’s a fantastic story with potent themes of morality but I really struggled to read it, in the end I DNF’ed it and left it at that. Anyone else feel the same?

The next one might not actually be as unpopular as other opinions but I didn’t even like Tamlin in ACOTAR. His secrets are revealed in ACOMAF and so people began to realise who he truly was and what his intentions were; however, in ACOMAF, everyone loved him and thought he was fantastic. I think it was the violence Tamlin showed in ACOTAR that pushed me away from liking his character; there was something that I never liked but I could never figure out what it was. Don’t get me wrong, I think as a character he’s great and he’s so fantastically well written by Sarah J. Maas but even in ACOTAR I didn’t like him.

Here’s where things get a little bit sticky. The three books that absolutely everyone loves and thinks are iconic within the YA genre are The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Looking for Alaska also by John Greenand The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I thought they were boring. They seem to suit every reader but they really weren’t my cup of tea. I just felt like there wasn’t really much of a plot in The Perks of Being a Wallflower or Looking for Alaska and in this case, they aren’t the books that can get away with lacking in plot. The two John Green books are the only ones I’ve read from him, I think they just put me off. I know, its a shock, I’ve never found anyone else who feels the same way so I’m hoping that by putting it on the internet, people will agree with me so I don’t feel like I’m in my own bubble here.

Lastly, and I think this might be the most controversial of all, I DNF’ed both The Hunger Games and the Divergent series. I really tried, I read the first two of each series but felt myself really struggling to finish them so I just didn’t. I love dystopian books so theoretically, I should love these books but I can’t. I thought The Hunger Games was too repetitive and I just didn’t take to the story in the Divergent series. Tris annoyed the life out of me as well, I couldn’t stand her.


If you feel the same way about any of these, please don’t hesitate in leaving a comment! I hope I’m not alone!

Becca.

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions.

  1. Unpopular opinions give me life. I’m so glad you posted this!

    I didn’t even really like ACOTAR at all so 😂 Looking For Alaska and Perks are two of my all time favourites, but I’ll forgive you 😝 I haven’t finished THG I only read the first book and I want to continue, but it’s definitely not a high priority.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

