Best 16 of 2016

Happy New Year, everyone! What did you all get up to last night to welcome in the new year? Anyway, I hope you all had a fantastic night whatever you were up to.

For the first post of 2017, I’m going to talk about 2016 (sort of counter-productive as someone who prefers the future). Where some people have written or spoken about the books they enjoyed that have been released this year, I will be dedicated this post sixteen of the best books I have read this year regardless of the release date!

(These are in no particular order, just a warning)


A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas was released in May and since then, has received an awful lot of stick for the lack of diversity and while I do recognise this as a severe problem, I still really enjoyed the book. I love the plot and I love her writing, which is why it stuck out to me as being one of the best books I read this year.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, oh wow. The final instalment of this series, The Raven King, was released this year and so I wanted to read the first three before I bought the last one, which I did. I can’t quite find the right words to express my adoration for this entire series, every book was different and explored different things but were all equally as great as each other which is why I added this entire series as a favourite, rather than a single book (I couldn’t choose between them even if I wanted to).

The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard was also one of my favourites for an infinite number of reasons. The ideas in this book could be seen as too similar to other novels but I think Aveyard has written a great story in her own individual style, which is why it stuck out to me.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern was unlike anything I have ever read before. It was so magical and whimsical with quite a dark undertone to it but I feel like whimsy and darkness come hand in hand. Morgenstern wrote the most fantastic standalone book and by far one of my favourite books I have ever read. You can read my review on The Night Circus here!


I’ll start with Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas just to get it out of the way because I KNOW that many of you will be disappointed that I have only just read the first book in this series… I’m getting to it I swear!! Never fear, I did love this book beyond belief. I didn’t quite know what to expect when I first opened Throne of Glass because deliberately avoided all reviews and tweets about this series and I’m glad I did, having very little expectations made my reading experience 10 times better.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is one that I had bought before I even stepped in to the bookish community. This book was incredible, it was so fast paced and full of action that I finished it in about 2 days.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton is set in the Middle East, which is a setting I had never read about before but I loved this book none-the-less! The second instalment in this series, Traitor to the Throne, is set to be released at some point in 2017 but I have found about 5 different dates for this so I trust none of them, I have already pre-ordered it though so I guess it will get here when it does. 😂

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh was another one I went in to blindly and loved. Despite having absolutely no expectations, elements of this book still threw me; the unpredictability was so gripping I steamed through this book in one sitting and am anxiously awaiting the day I pick up the next instalment.


Alice by Christina Henry is (as it sounds) an Alice in Wonderland re-telling with a very dark twist. This book was recommended to me by Taylor Mae Marie, one of my favourite people in the bookish world, and it turned out to be one of my favourite reads of the summer! I reviewed it here too!

Don’t even get me started on Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. CUTEST BOOK EVER. That is all I will say.

The Deal by Elle Kennedy was the first New Adult book I had read and made me instantly fall in love with the genre. After I finished this book I wanted to read the entire genre despite having no time to do it. I did however, discover that the best recommendations for this genre came from one of my favourite booktubers, Carol @ The Reading Wallflower, she’s always spot on!!

The Wicked and the Divine was also a favourite that was recommended by a good friend in the bookish community. Katelyn has the BEST recommendations for graphic novels so if you’re ever stuck, head to her Twitter! She’s fantastic!


I read the whole of the Grisha trilogy this year and really enjoyed it, my favourite was however, Shadow and Bone which was the first instalment. The Darkling was by far one of my favourite characters of this year and so I absolutely devoured these books! I loved the world it was set in and the ideas about the different Grishas, which is why I am so surprised I haven’t read Six of Crows yet.. I’m getting there though.

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourite books ever. It will always be in my top lists which is why I re-read it so much. Classic romance is one of my favourite genres and I think books such as Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre will always have significance and will always be adored by everyone.

Cinder, on the other hand, is a re-telling of a classic fairytale. This is the first book in The Lunar Chronicles series and is a sci-fi re-telling of Cinderella which was done absolutely fantastically. I loved the world this story was set in which is why it took me no time at all to dive in to the second book of the series, Scarlet, which I loved just as much.

The Shining by Stephen King scared the absolute life out of me. It took about six months for me to read it because it was just so strange to read; I have never actually been scared by a book before but this was an exception. I loved it none-the-less.


There we have it, my 16 best books of 2016! There was (and still is) a lot of books I need to catch up with and so I am hoping that this year will allow me some time to get through them!

What were your favourite reads of 2016?

5 thoughts on “Best 16 of 2016

  1. Awesome list! Some of my favourites too. I can’t blame you for only reading the first Throne of Glass books, it was months before I read the second book and I still haven’t gotten around to the third yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

