2017 RESOLUTIONS

To wrap up this week I wanted to tell you all my blogging and reading resolutions for 2017. I know this is a strange day to be posting this seeing as it would have been more fitting to post earlier this week, but hey, at least it’s up!

Firstly, I’ll talk to you about my blogging resolutions.

1. BLOG MORE FREQUENTLY 

This year I really hope to establish a regular posting pattern whether that be daily, every other day, whatever – just as long as it’s not as sporadic as it has been previously. Hopefully if I establish a schedule, I’ll be more organised!

2. REVIEW MORE

For a book blog, I don’t review half as much as I should. This year I really want to start writing all my thoughts down on the majority of the books I read, especially new releases.

3. CREATE MORE ORIGINAL CONTENT

This is what I struggled with last year, I was always so busy I didn’t  have time to sit down and really think about what I was writing. It’s all well and good participating in weekly posts but I don’t want my blog to become too repetitive which is why I’m going to try and dedicate a set time to create things that are my own.

4. STAY UP TO DATE 

For this, I mean that I need to regularly check the blogosphere for new posts and stay up to date on what they’re writing about. Additionally, I want to increase my interaction with other blogs which will mainly be commenting more frequently. I love almost every blog post I read but always forget to let the author know!


Secondly, my reading resolutions

1. READ WHAT I ALREADY OWN 

This is my biggest problem. I love love love buying new books and I usually read them but there are so many on my shelf that I haven’t gotten to yet because I keep getting new ones. I think I’ll try and read at least 3 books I already own before buying a new one!

2. FINISH SERIES

This resolution kind of goes hand in hand with the previous one; I’ve started so many series but have never gotten around to finishing them (for example, TMI series 🙈 I only have one left though so it’s not too bad). I have a bad habit of finding new series and just diving straight in before finishing one that I had already started.

3. DON’T PRESSURE YOURSELF

This one is a life resolution as well as a reading/blogging resolution. I always put so much pressure on myself to either read as many books as I can or to read a book even if I’m not enjoying it; this year I want to relax more and let things happen as they happen, not stressing too much of things don’t turn out perfectly.

4. READ MORE NEW RELEASES 

This one links to my blogging goal of reviewing more; hopefully if I read more new releases, I’ll feel happier about reviewing more. A lot of the books I read this year came out a while ago and I felt like everyone had read them so there was no need to review them. The more releases I read, the more I’ll review!


Some of these, I know, are quite general resolutions but they’re what I’m really hoping to achieve this year!

What are some of your new years resolutions?

(Featured image: Ryan McGilchrist, found here)

5 thoughts on “2017 RESOLUTIONS

  1. I can relate to ALL of these! I realised in the last couple of months of 2016 that my reviews were so sporadic so now I’m aiming for 2 reviews a month at least. Also, I really need to stop buying books and read the ones on my shelves and the ones that people have lent me because I just don’t have the space.

    P.S. I use a spreadsheet as my blog schedule so that I can see when I’ve scheduled posts for and whether there are any gaps that need filling etc, it’s been really helpful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

