SPOILER FREE BOOK REVIEW: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

falling-kingdomsTitle: Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Published: 2012

Genre: Fantasy/YA

My rating:  ★★★★☆

Available at: Amazon / Waterstones / Foyles / Book Depository

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….”


I decided to review this book because I know that there’s just the same amount of people who haven’t read this book as have. I was so hesitant to read start this series firstly because I’m reading too many series to handle another, but also because I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about it. This review is another to add to the mix for all those considering reading Falling Kingdoms!

I absolutely loved the first book in this series. It laid out the foundations for an absolutely fantastic story; the idea of having the different sides with completely different beliefs and tactics being lead by such strongly individual characters was just great.

The reason I gave this only four stars, despite my complete adoration for it, is because I’m saving my five star rating for the next books  because I feel like it’s a series that is only going to get better.

This story is based in a world named Mytica with three vast kingdoms within, and is centred around four completely different characters; Cleo, Magnus, Lucia and Jonas. There is such huge amounts of depth given to these characters already and it’s only book 1; the characters are all so individual, with different beliefs and strengths but they are all flawed meaning at the moment, I cannot decide which side I would take! They all interlink but I will leave you to find out how for yourself.

The tensions between kingdoms, predominantly of Limeros and Palesia against Auranos, which leads to some pretty intense deals being made and arguments unresolved. As well as this, there is also a mass hunt to recover the Kindred; for a fantasy book, there is only a small amount of magic used in this book but I know for sure that it will be used more throughout the following books. This book kind of feels like it will be a YA version of Game of Thrones with all the kingdoms competing against each other!

A word of warning, don’t get too attached to any characters because I have a feeling they will be ripped from under you. There’s a lot of death and a lot of betrayal but overall, it makes for a fantastic story.

I’m sorry this review is so short and all over the place, I didn’t think I would review this book so I didn’t take any notes. It’s a very impromptu post written on a rainy Sunday but one that I actually enjoyed writing. Also, I 100% stopped half way through to order the second book in the series.

Let me know if you’ve read it and your thoughts!

 

Featured image: Justin Luebke, found on magdeleine.co

Leave a Reply

