Summer TBR

Rather than creating an entirely new post creating excuses as to why I haven’t been able to blog for a very long time, I’m just going to explain it now. The reality of it is that I had almost fallen out of love with reading for a while due to the workload of my course. I began to associate reading with assignments and stress and so it therefore became something I dreaded rather than something I enjoyed. I think it’s just going to take a really good book to get me back into the flow of my old reading habits!

Unfortunately, this years summer TBR won’t be as extensive as it was last year as I will be working up towards my dissertation and I don’t feel like I want the pressure of a huge TBR on top of this. Regardless, I’m still going to tell you all which books I plan on reading over the next couple of months.
23308084

To start with, the book I am currently reading is The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh. I absolutely adored the first book in the series, The Wrath and the Dawn, and I’ve been desperate to read the second book since it was released; I’m hoping it will be just the book to lift me back into my old routine!

 

 

 

ACOWAR.jpg

The next book on my list is, of course, A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. I’ve heard an awful lot of mixed reviews about the third book in the ACOTAR series but I’m still intrigued to make my own decisions. I enjoyed the previous two books so I’m excited to read this one!

 

 

 

illuminae

This will be the summer I read Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It has been impossible to find a hardback copy of this in the UK which is why I have put off buying and therefore reading it. But this summer, I. will. find. this. book. (If anyone in the UK knows where I can find the hardcover edition for a price that isn’t utterly extortionate, please let me know!!!)

 

 

truthwitch-1

I have no excuse, I just haven’t felt in the mood to read Truthwitch by Susan Dennard yet. I’ve heard some really fantastic things about this book so I really feel like I should pick it up at some point!

 

 

 

 

persepolic

 

Finally, to add a little bit of variety to this list, I plan on reading Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. This graphic novel was recommended to me by the wonderful Katelyn who has the greatest suggestions in this department!

 

 

 

When I said it was only a small TBR, I really meant a small TBR…

What are you all reading this summer? Do you have any recommendations of summery books that I should read?

 

Featured image: Mink Mingle, found on https://magdeleine.co

2 thoughts on “Summer TBR

    1. Thank you so much! 💖 ahhh I really want to, I’ve heard so many people talk about it! Same with Persepolis, it’s been on my shelf forever but I can never build myself up to tackle it 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

