How to Get Out of a Reading Slump.

Reading slumps are something we all experience, we’ve all become a victim at some point but some slumps may be more difficult to get out of than others. This post will give you five of my top tips to hopefully boost you out of the mess that is a reading slump!

1. YouTube

One of my favourite ways of inspiring myself to pick up a book again is by watching BookTube videos. This helps to inspire me to pick up maybe a specific book that I have watched a review of, or just in general; some of my favourite BookTubers are fantastic at inspiring me to read again through their own excitement and enthusiasm towards books.

2. Twitter/Tumblr

All kinds of social media really. Similarly to YouTube, Twitter and Tumblr are platforms where people can talk about books; the difference with social media is that you can interact with other people. This can, again, inspire you to pick up a book again, especially if you talk to people about a certain book or decide to buddy-read with someone.

3. Read an old favourite

Reading something you know and love can quite often pick you up out of your reading slump as it reminds you why you read in the first place. It will effortlessly lift your spirits and change your attitude towards reading, which will hopefully be a refreshing way to start reading again.

4. Read a novella

By reading something short and sweet, this can be a novella, a book of poetry or even a book of short stories, your mind is able to get back into the routine of reading without having to commit to a 700 page novel. It’s much less daunting and therefore a much easier way to get out of a reading slump than picking up a huge book.

5. Let it be

While there are hundreds of different things you can try and do to get yourself out of a reading slump, sometimes you just have to let it be and ride it out. They’re completely natural and therefore you should slowly be able to get back into reading in your own time, without forcing anything. There’s nothing worse than reading while you’re not enjoying it.

I hope these tips helped you out of your reading slump in some way or another; let me know what you do to get out of a reading slump!

4 thoughts on “How to Get Out of a Reading Slump.

  1. BookTube has been such a massive help to me when I’m in a reading slump, I really underestimated what a good resource it is. I either watch BookTube videos, or if I’m not in the mood, I know that I should just ride it out and not think about how little I’m reading/how much I could be reading

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is literally my process when I’m in a slump!! BookTube helps me SO MUCH because I feel like seeing other people excited about books makes me want to read again!! Otherwise I usually just try to wait it out because if I force myself it usually backfires 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

