Books I Think Would Make Great Movies

Adaptations are always a touchy subject with people but I think that if it’s done right, then I’ll enjoy it! However, if it’s a poor adaptation (*unpopular opinion alert* see: Pride and Prejudice movie with Keira Knightly), then I’ll start to get angry. So, today I thought I’d give you a brief list of books I think would make great movies if they were done correctly!

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

I absolutely adoorreeeddd this book, I’m currently reading the second book in the series, The Rose and the Dagger, and I’m absolutely loving it. I find the story so exciting and intriguing and I think that if the characters are cast right, it could be amazing! I know that this is re-telling of the story 1001 Nights but that doesn’t take away from the unique way Renée Ahdieh has interpreted the original and made it entirely her own.

2. Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

Now, although I didn’t really enjoy this book as it wasn’t overly entertaining, I still thought it was cute has the potential to be a nice, light-hearted movie. I think things too need to be added in to make the plot slightly quicker and more stimulating but I really enjoyed the over-all concept and believe it would make a good movie.

3. Gifted by J. A. George

As you know, I really enjoyed this book so you can see my full review here. Although only the first book in the series is published, I think the first showed a lot of potential for the rest of the books. The whole concept of Gifted is amazing, the characters are great and again, I think this has a great story to be adapted into a movie!

4. Alice by Christina Henry 

Ahhh this book was so fun and fast paced! (*SPOILER FREE* Book Review: Alice.) I understand that it would be difficult to release this as a movie for many reasons, but that doesn’t stop it from being a great book to adapt, this is hypothetical after all)! Although it’s based on Alice in Wonderland, I think it has created a story completely unlike the original in a completely different genre, while keeping enough of the main features to be able to link it back and understand the references.

5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

This story was incredible, it was unlike anything I’ve ever read before! I feel like this would make the most epic movie if it was cast and directed correctly. The characters, the dialogue, the settings, everything about this book was so great. I could definitely imagine it being a really popular movie, it has such great potential!


So there are five of the books I can imagine could be great movies. I know many will agree and many will disagree so let me know your thoughts in the comments! What books could you see as movies?

 

Featured image: Jose Antonio Moreno Cabezudo via magdeleine.co

Leave a Reply

