Top YA Contemporary Reads

Todays post is something a little bit different to anything I’ve written on here before, I’m going to give you a list of 10 YA contemporary books that either I loved and I recommend you read, or that other people have recommended to me but I haven’t gotten around to reading yet! It’s always good to get recommendations from multiple people so I just thought I’d compile them here.

(P.S. for the latter category, all of my opinions are provisional and may change later in the year once I get down to reading them)

anna

Surprise surprise, Anna and the French Kiss first on my list as one I recommend to you. You may love it or hate it, but my weakness is cliché romance (as much as I hate to admit) and this book has it all. It’s about a girl who goes to a boarding school in Paris and meets a boy who is in a very serious relationship, do you see what I mean by clichés? I’m yet to read the rest of the series but I’m excited to get to them!

fangirl

The next book on my list is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This book is about twin sisters who were split up when they go to college but mainly focuses on Cath; it follows her story of adapting to college life as well life without her sister around all the time, while continuing her writing of fan fiction. Rainbow Rowell is incredible at writing fantastic YA stories and reading Fangirl has only made me want to read more of her books!

simon

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is one that I haven’t managed to read yet but has been on my TBR since it was released! I don’t feel like I would be able to summarise the plot of this book in an effective enough way, so here’s the Goodreads page for you to read. I don’t think there’s a person who has read this and not thought it was fantastic.

aristotle

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. This book is absolutely everywhere at the moment despite it being released in 2012, and I’ve heard everybody raving about it. Again, my explanation would not do it enough justice so I trust Goodreads to give you the plot. Doesn’t it sound great?! I feel like I might push it right up on my TBR!

sybg

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. The cover alone looks like this book will be a good Spring/Summer read; there’s strong themes of friendship and a bit of romance but ultimately, it seems it’s a story of self-discovery. A perfect YA contemporary and one that I will definitely be getting to before the end of August.

tsiaas

The Sun is Also a Star deals with a girl, Natasha, whose family are twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. It also deals with a boy, Daniel, whose main focus is his education and his poetry. They meet one day and the rest is for you to find out. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book which is why I am very much looking forward to reading it.

enp

It wouldn’t be a YA contemporary recommendation post without mentioning Eleanor & Park (yes, another Rainbow Rowell book, she’s that good). This was the book that first got me into the genre of YA contemporary. Neither Eleanor nor Park really fit in at school but they meet each other and it then follows their story over the course of the year. It’s cutesy and cliché but I really enjoyed it, definitely recommend!

PS

It’s cutesy, it’s fluffy, it’s a perfect YA contemporary! P.S. I Like You by Kasie West follows a protagonist, Lily, and her efforts to discover who her anonymous pen pal has been.

thug

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas is a very recent and very significant release and one I have unfortunately not been able to get my hands on yet. Sixteen year old Starr witnesses her best friend being murdered by the police; the power and relevance of this book makes it one that everyone needs to read.

wtcb

Finally, my last recommendation is Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley. I have no idea how to describe this book in a short and snappy way so here’s the Goodreads page. It is a great example of a book in the YA contemporary genre that isn’t a fluffy teen romance if that isn’t your style!


So there you have it, my top 10 recommended YA contemporary books! The reason I have used a mixture of books I have and haven’t read is because I think it’s important and more fun to show you what other people have been enjoying as well as myself. YA contemporary is such a wide genre and allows for there to be something for everyone; while you have light and fluffy romance reads on the one hand, on the other hand you are able to get books in the genre that discuss more serious topics and have heavier themes.

I think I might carry on with this type of post for the future, which genres would you like me to cover? Let me know in the comments!

 

Featured image by Emmanuel Hahn found on magdeleine.co

7 thoughts on “Top YA Contemporary Reads

Leave a Reply

