Top of my Dystopian TBR

After much deliberation, I’ve decided to make these list posts into a series on my blog; this series will contain my TBR, favourites, and dislikes for all of my favourite genres! I’ve previously written a Fantasy TBR that you can find here, and a YA Contemporary favourites that you can find here! I’ll put them all into a separate category in the sidebar so they’re all easily accessible and I’ll be publishing a new post every Monday!

Today’s post, as you can tell by the title is going to be the books at the top of my TBR in the Dystopian category. I don’t really read a lot of dystopian novels but it’s a genre (or perhaps sub-genre?) that I really want to explore more, which made it very difficult to narrow this post down to the top 5! I feel like dystopian is kind of a disputed genre in that everyone classes different books as dystopian but in my eyes, as kindly defined by google, it is simply a world or place where everything is bad. This open interpretation means that almost anything and everything in the fantasy/sci-fi genre could potentially be classed as dystopian but I tend to think of it as the books that are closer to reality; in other words, worlds that are more similar to the one we live in now only, for example, with more advanced technology but without the use of magic or powers. However, for this list, I have decided to branch out slightly and think about books and series that may include some of these elements I wouldn’t have originally considered but could still be classed as dystopian. If there are any on this list that you think shouldn’t be called ‘dystopian’, please let me know in the comments!

Well, after that incredibly long-winded waffle (deepest apologies, but thank you for reading), I’ll begin!


Title: The Maze Runner trilogy

Author: James Dasher

Book 1 release date: 6th October 2009

(Book 1 Synopsis): If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.”


Title: Shatter Me series

Author: Tahareh Mafi 

Book 1 release date: 15th November 2011

(Book 1 synopsis): 

“I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.”


Title: Unwind Dystology series

Author: Neal Shusterman 

Book 1 release date: 6th November 2007

(Book 1 synopsis): “Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive”


rpo

Title: Ready Player One 

Author: Ernest Cline

Release date: 16th August 2011

“In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.”


Title: Chaos Walking trilogy 

Author: Patrick Ness

Book 1 release date: 5th May 2008 

“Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?”


So here are the top 5 books/series on my dystopian TBR! Again, if there’s some you don’t believe to be in the dystopian genre then please let me know!

Have you read any of these? If so, what are your thoughts? I’d love to hear some more people’s opinions on them!

Featured image:  

11 thoughts on “Top of my Dystopian TBR

  1. Ready Player One was such an awesome book! I’m thinking about rereading it, haha.
    Also I have The Maze Runner laying around.. Somewhere.. [My books are all over the place lately] but I have yet to read them. If only I could take some days off to just read, haha.
    Nice list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I don’t know very many people who haven’t read The Maze Runner yet – I hope you enjoy it! I’ve got The Knife of Never Letting Go, Ready Player One, and Unwind on my Beat the Backlist TBR for this year — especially after how much I loved Scythe, I’m super pumped to see if Neal Shusterman’s other books are just as stellar. ☆

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved the Chaos Walking trilogy! It has a lot of important things to say about war, and Patrick Ness is such a fantastic writer. I hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved The Maze Runner series SO MUCH until the last book, then it ruined everything for me 😂 I’ve only read the first book in the Shatter Me series and I wasn’t the biggest fan, but I hope you enjoy them more!! I REALLY wanna read Ready Player One! Unwind is on my TBR too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’ve heard pretty similar things, it’s probably part of the reason I never got around to reading the series! 🙈
      Oh no, that’s such a shame! From the reviews I’ve read, I think the Shatter Me series is such a love or hate series, I’m kind of hesitant to start!! Hahaha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

