BOOK REVIEW: Lumberjanes

*SPOILER FREE*

lumberjanes.jpg

Title: Lumberjanes vol. 1

Author:  Noelle Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen

Genre: Graphic Novel

Rating: ★★★★★

Publication date: 9th April 2014

Publisher: Boom! Studios

Available at: Amazon/Book Depository

“Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way!”


Essentially, Lumberjanes is a fantastic graphic novel about five friends who somehow end up trying to figure out a supernatural mystery while they’re at summer camp.

There are some serious themes of friendship and self-belief which is absolutely fantastic to see. They all help each other realise that they have their own talents and that each one of them is useful and needed in their own way. I haven’t read that many books that include these qualities so when it appeared here, I was over the moon!

The artwork is also beautiful. I love the drawing style and the colours used for the backgrounds etc. are just amazing. I’m not an artist/creative in any sense of the words so there’s not much that I can say apart from that it’s incredible.

I think the main thing that this graphic novel portrays is that while each character has their own individual strengths, what’s important is that they work together and as a team; it really relates to reality in that while we do need independence, sometimes things aren’t achievable unless you have help. It really was a joy to read!

The characters were also amazing; each of them had their own personality and were completely different to each other but worked so well together. Ripley was definitely my favourite as she just had so much energy, she reminded me of myself when I was younger!

The writing and the plot of this graphic novel was so entertaining as well. It was very all over the place but I really enjoyed that! It was so strange but it was full of comedy and sarcasm which are really up my alley. I cannot wait to get my hands on the second volume!


So, overall, I definitely recommend this! I absolutely loved every aspect of it and have zero qualms at this point in time. If you’re looking for a new light-hearted graphic novel series, you should definitely look into Lumberjanes!

Do you have any recommendations similar to Lumberjanes? Let me know in the comments!

Featured image: 

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Lumberjanes

Leave a Reply

