*SPOILER FREE* BOOK REVIEW: The Upside of Unrequited

upside

Title: The Upside of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: YA/Contemporary 

Release date: 11th April 2017

Rating ★★★★★

Available at: Amazon/Book Depository

“Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?”


Ohhhhhhh this book!!!! I don’t even know how to begin to express my adoration for this story and for Becky Albertalli. It’s a beautiful story about friendship, romance, family and most importantly, learning about self-love.

I think one of the main reasons I loved this story so much is because of how much I could relate to the main character, Molly. She reminded me an awful lot of myself in regards to her thoughts, her personality and her sense of humour to the point where I could picture myself right in the middle of the story. I really really enjoyed reading about the developments in Molly’s character and the way she accepts herself and grows as a person. I also really admired how Albertalli dealt with Molly’s anxiety. Sometimes it is not spoken about directly but it definitely comes out in Molly’s internal dialogue, for example, thinking about a situation over and over despite it happening several years ago, which is something I suffer with doing myself.

The diversity in this book is also incredibly refreshing! For example (a few of many), Molly comes from a Jewish family, has two mums and her twin sister is a lesbian and is in a relationship with a pansexual person of colour. It was truly amazing! Speaking of family, the dynamic between them was really enjoyable to read! Everything just flowed so easily and I love that they bickered and argued so much because I’ve read far too many books where the author has tried to portray a perfectly ‘happy family’, its just. not. realistic!

Ahh now then. Characters. Molly, as you know, I loved. Her twin sister, Cassie, was almost the complete opposite which was fun because I think she really helped bring Molly out of her shell a little bit! You can tell that all Cassie wants is for Molly to be happy and even though this might not come out in the right way, you know she’s always there for Molly to support her. I also loved how sparky Mina was, she’s chatty and bubbly which are traits I love in a character. I didn’t really feel too strongly about Olivia and Max, or even Will. I know Will is a potential love interest but I just didn’t think he had too much of a personality, all he spoke about was photography and was drinking whenever he appeared. He was just meh for me. Reid, on the other hand, was fantastic. He was nerdy and cute and had a great sense of humour. I think he was definitely my favourite character, especially because he accepted himself for who he was and was not afraid to show it.

This story was just so pure and light-hearted, it was such an entertaining read as Albertalli wrote with a great humour! It was fun, fast-paced and definitely a heart-warming story that made me happy the entire time. All of the situations, whether they were awkward or cute, were just so much fun to read; the characters and their individual quirks, along with the actual wonderfulness (is that a word? no? i’ll make it one) of the plot made it by far one of my favourite contemporary reads to date. Thank you Becky Albertalli for this fantastic book.

There were numerous references to other books, TV series and movies which was an added extra. My favourite of them all being from Arrested Development when Molly states:

“It makes me never want to be naked. And it’s not like I could be a Never Nude. I don’t even like jean shorts.”

The only problem is that is not long enough!!! I breezed through it and before I realised, I was at the acknowledgements page!

If you’re looking for a funny, feel-good contemporary, I definitely recommend this one! I hope you love/loved it as much as I did!

Let me know in the comments what you thought of it!

P.S, I have posted a separate post with all of my thoughts on the spoilery bits that you can find here!

Featured image: 

6 thoughts on “*SPOILER FREE* BOOK REVIEW: The Upside of Unrequited

  1. Doh! What an adorkable review – it’s got me fangirling over the book and I haven’t even read it yet! There it is, sitting on my shelf, mocking me… Gah! now it’s in my hand! Oh well, guess I better start reading it so I can gush over it’s prose too.
    Thanks for sharing an awesome review… look forward to what you post next 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved loved this book and your review aswell ! I listened to it as an audiobook very recently but I loved it so much I think I might purchase a paperback copy someday to re-read it. Your post basically sums-up my every thought about this book 💃 The only thing is I think Mina sounded kind of judgemental at times, especially towards Reid but I liked her in spite of that and a character needs to have their flaws, don’t they ? I absolutely love Becky Albertalli : I recently read “Simon VS The HomoSapien Agenda” too and I’m DEFINITELY adding Albertalli to my auto-buy author list. I don’t know if you’ve read it already but I think if you liked TUOU, you’d love Queens Of Geek by Jen Wilde (I have a spoiler-free review on my blog). It’s diverse, funny, cute and deals with anxiety in an accurate way too !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you so much! Yeah I’ve heard the audiobook for his is amazing!
      Yeah I did notice that, Mina was kinda rude towards Reid, some of the comments she made were really uncalled for.
      Simon vs. is next on my TBR list I’m so excited to get to it, I’m annoyed I’ve only just picked up an Albertalli book!!
      Ohhh thank you so much for the recommendations, I’ll check them out! 💖

      Like

Leave a Reply

