(Very late) July Wrap-Up

So… August has arrived, July has been and gone, and I couldn’t be happier. One step closer to autumn (or fall, depending on where you’re from, sorry Australia having to deal with spring). As a strong hater of the summer seasons, I can’t wait for it to get colder. Anyway, July was the month I really got back into reading and blogging and have fallen back into one of my favourite routines so there’s a lot for me to talk about!

Favourite Books:

The Upside of Unrequited is by far my favourite read of this year, it was so uplifting and fun to read! Click here for my spoiler free  review, or here for the spoilery bits!

Fangirl, I absolutely adored, for obvious reasons. I haven’t seen a single bad review on Fangirl! I only read it this month but I feel like I want to read it again very soon.

Lumberjanes was my favourite graphic novel of the month! It was such a good, heart-warming story of friendship and supernatural beings, you can find my book review for it here!

Top Blog Posts: 

I wrote quite a bit this month, but I think my favourite posts (aside from the book reviews linked above) are:

Dystopian Favourites

Most Memorable Reads of my Teen Years

Top of my Fantasy TBR

Make sure you go and have a read, they’re full of great books!

Movie/TV/Music Highlights:

The album I want to give a special mention to is Ultralife by Oh Wonder. I’ve been listening to this album on repeat for the past month, it was only released in June but I’m obsessed!

When I’m not listening to Ultralife, I’m listening to this very strange selection of songs:

Your Love by Middle Kids

Darling by Real Estate 

Sweep Me off My Feet by Pond 

Used To Be My Girl by The Last Shadow Puppets

Only Memories Remain by My Morning Jacket

Love Really Hurts Without You by Billy Ocean

Suspicious Minds by Elvis Presley

She’s On My Mind by JP Cooper

Someone To You by BANNERS

Don’t Matter Now by George Ezra

Weird, right?

Anyway, on to TV shows! As you all know, season 7 of Game of Thrones started a couple of weeks ago and it’s living up to it’s very high expectations. I’m absolutely loving it!

The other series I’ve been obsessed with is Grimm. Grimm is, essentially, a homicide detective drama twisted with fantasy and supernatural themes and is based on Grimm’s Fairy Tales so I’m 100% here for it. I’ve only just started it but I love it already.

I don’t think I’ve watched any new movies this month so nothing to report there!


So there’s a very brief summary of my favourite things this month! Let me know in the comments what you’ve been loving recently!

Do you have any series/movie recommendations for me?

Featured image: 

Leave a Reply

